Chetan Sharma returns as national selection committee chairman

Mumbai: Chetan Sharma returned as chairman of the senior men’s national selection committee, according to the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

The BCCI also named former Test opener Shiv Sundar Das from the Central zone, former seamer Subroto Banerjee from East Zone, Salil Ankola from West Zone and Sridharan Sharath from South Zone as the other members of the selection committee.

“The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape undertook an extensive process for selecting members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee. The Board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18th November 2022,” a BCCI statement said.

“Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the Committee has recommended the following candidates for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee,” it added.

On November 18, Sharma-led committee had dissolved Sharma-led committee following India’s recent T20 World Cup exit.

Former Test player Sharma was appointed as Chief Selector back in December 2020.

BCCI had also invited applications for the position of National Selectors and listed out criteria for considerations in its statement.


Leave a Reply