Bhupendra Patel elected leader BJP legislature Party in Gujarat

Gandhinagar: Holding the baton for the second time, Chief minister of Gujarat Bhupendra Patel has been reelected as leader of BJP Legislature Party on Saturday.

With meeting convened in the presence of Defence minister Rajnath Singh, Arjun Munda and BS Yediyurappa, Patel was elected the leader of Vidhayak Dal. All newly elected BJP MLAs were present in the meeting.

BJP has registered win on 156 out of 182 seats in the recent assembly elections held in Gujarat.While Congress is at number two with 17 seats , independents have bagged three seats. AAP has gained five seats and Samajwadi party opened its account with one seat.

The assembly results were announced on December 8 in which BJP has emerged at the winner for the seventh time and has been able to regain power with majority.

Notably, in 2017 , out of 182 assembly seats , BJP had garnered 99 seats , seven more than majority after being in power for 22 years.

Congress was victorious on 77 constituencies, Bharatiya Tribal Party could manage two seats , NCP got one while three seats went to independents.

In 2012 polls, BJP got 115 seats, Congress 61, Gujarat Parivartan of Rankapa and Keshubhai Patil which later merged with BJP managed just two while JD(U) and independents were triumphant on one seat each.


Leave a Reply