Jansen replaces Pretorius in SA T20 WC squad

Jansen replaces Pretorius in SA T20 WC squad

Johannesburg: Marco Jansen has been named as the replacement for all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius in the South Africa ICC T20 World Cup squad.

Pretorius, who has played an important role with both bat and ball for South Africa in recent years, ruled out of the T20 World Cup after fracturing his left thumb during the recent T20 International series against India.

Meanwhile, Lizaad Williams has been called up to replace Jansen amongst the travelling reserves.

Pretorius had an impressive run in the previous edition of the T20 World Cup, finishing as South Africa’s joint-highest wicket-taker (nine) with the best bowling average (11.22) of the lot. Despite having played only one T20I, Jansen has been entrusted with filling the void of taking the death-bowling duties left behind by Pretorius.

South Africa will play their opening contest of the T20 World Cup on October 24 against the winner of Qualifier B1 at Hobart.

Before the tournament kicks off, Proteas will play two warm-up games — against New Zealand on October 17 and Bangladesh on October 19, both at Brisbane.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen. Standby Players: Bjorn Fortuin, Lizaad Williams, Andile Phehlukwayo


Leave a Reply