Bumrah returns as BCCI names T20 WC squad

Bumrah returns as BCCI names T20 WC squad

Mumbai:  The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, with Jasprit Bumrah making his return from injury.

The mega event starting from October 16 in Australia with Sri Lanka taking on Namibia at Sano International Cricket Ground.

Along with Bumrah, fellow pacer Harshal Patel also returned to the side, having missed out on the Asia Cup with a side strain.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Harshal pipped Ravi Bishnoi and Avesh Khan to the two spots that were in contention ahead of the squad finalisation.

Rohit Sharma-led squad, however, missing all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who sustained an injury during the Asia Cup.

Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the other two pacers in the squad, along with the all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel are the specialist spinners, with the latter ostensibly replacing Jadeja in the squad.

The batting line-up is along expected lines with captain Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik all included.

The board also named the squad for the T20I home series against Australia and South Africa.

Prior to the T20 World Cup India will play three match T20 series against Australia from September 20-25 followed by a series against South Africa, which include three T20Is and as many as ODIs, from September 28 to October 11.

The BCCI said that Hardik Pandya, Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be reporting to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) for conditioning-related work during the course of the home series against Australia and South Africa.


Leave a Reply