Dr Farooq, Omar Abdullah pay glowing tributes to the Martyrs of 13th July 1931

Dr Farooq, Omar Abdullah pay glowing tributes to the Martyrs of 13th July 1931

Srinagar: The Jammu and Kashmir National Conference Party President, Member of Parliament Dr Farooq Abdullah and Vice President Omar Abdullah have paid glowing tributes to the martyrs of 1931, calling the day a landmark in the history of Jammu and Kashmir.

According to a statement issued here, while recalling the sacrifice of the 13 July martyrs, Dr Farooq said the day is an important landmark in the history of Jammu and Kashmir which will never go out of our sight. He stated the implications of the day thickened over time and resulted in the transformation of the state from a feudalistic to a democratic one.

“The brave men who laid their lives on 13th of July 1931 belonged to a generation of wisdom, and vision. They saw in darkness and despair, a vision for the forthcoming generations; they envisioned a society free from bondage, discrimination and oppression,” he said.

Party’s Vice President Omar Abdullah while paying tributes to the Martyrs said that the 13th July marks the collective defiance of the oppressed. “The day is the watershed moment in the people’s struggle for restoration of their universal human rights. It was their valour that inspired millions of others to rise against the then despotic and autocratic regime. We observe the day to reiterate our commitment to fight evil with kindness, violence with non-violence and peaceful struggle.”

“On this day, I pay my humble tributes to all the martyrs, who laid their lives for securing a dignified life for future generations,” he added.

Party’s General Secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar, Additional General Secretary Dr. Sheikh Mustafa Kamal, Provincial President Nasir Aslam Wani, Chief Spokesperson Tanvir Sadiq, Members of Parliament Muhammad Akbar Lone, Hasnain Masoodi Senior leaders Choudhary Ramzan, Abdul Rahim Rather, Mian Altaf Ahmed, Mubarak Gul, Irfan Shah, Sakina Itoo, Shameema Firdous, Zone presidents Ali Muhammad Dar, Javed Dar, Dr Bashir Veeri, District presidents GM Mir, Peer Afaq, Qaiser Jamsheed, Showkat Ahmed, Altaf Ah Wani, Ab Majeed Larmi, GR Naaz, Dr Sajjad Shafi, State Spokesperson Imran Nabi Dar, YNC Provincial President Salman Ali Sagar, Ahsan Pardesi, Sara Hayat Shah, Sabiya Qadri and others also paid tributes to July 13 martyrs.(KNS)

Leave a Reply